Open Science and Citizen Science

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full-text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub-disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development.

arXiv is a free open access research sharing platform that hosts more than two million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Using arXiv, researchers can share and discover new, relevant, emerging science and establish their contribution to advancing research. Materials on the site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). It is indexing the metadata of all kinds of academically relevant resources – journals, institutional repositories, digital collections etc. – which provide an OAI interface and use OAI-PMH for providing their contents (see our Golden Rules for Repository Managers).

CORE harvests research papers from such as institutional and subject repositories, and open access and hybrid journals. CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research worldwide and deliver unrestricted access for all.

Dimensions is the world’s largest scientific research database and the only database linking research from idea to impact – covering grants, funding, publications, patents, clinical trials, and policy documents, as well as online mentions. We provide advanced search across all content types to find what you need quickly, and deep-indexing of full-text publications to broaden your discovery. Our data is open and inclusive. Because our mission is to support the research ecosystem to change the world for the better.

DOAJ is financially supported by many libraries, publishers and other like-minded organisations. Supporting DOAJ demonstrates a firm commitment to open access and the infrastructure that supports it. DOAJ is a co-author to the Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing that provide the basis of the DOAJ basic criteria for inclusion.

EconStor is a publication server for scholarly economic literature, provided as a non-commercial public service by the ZBW. The full texts collected here (mostly working papers, but also journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.) are all freely accessible according to the principles of Open Access. Authors and editors can also submit papers to EconStor free of charge.
EconStor is among the largest repositories in its discipline with 226,695 full-texts. More than 500 institutions use it for the digital dissemination of their publications in Open Access. EconStor is also an important input service for RePEc, where it is one of the most highly frequented archives. Moreover, we also distribute our titles to search engines like Google, Google Scholar, or BASE and to academic databases like WorldCat, OpenAire, and EconBiz.

A curated, informative, and educational resource on data and metadata standards, inter-related to databases and data policies.

The FOSTER portal is an e-learning platform that brings together the best training resources addressed to those who need to know more about Open Science, or need to develop strategies and skills for implementing Open Science practices in their daily workflows. Here you will find a growing collection of training materials. Many different users - from early-career researchers, to data managers, librarians, research administrators, and graduate schools - can benefit from the portal. In order to meet their needs, the existing materials will be extended from basic to more advanced-level resources. In addition, discipline-specific resources will be created.

Frontiers is the third most-cited and ninth largest research publisher, publishing groundbreaking discoveries by the world’s top experts. Scientists empower society and Frontiers' mission is to accelerate scientific discovery by making science open. Frontiers places the researcher at the center of everything it does do and enable the research community to develop the solutions we need to live healthy lives on a healthy planet. Featuring custom-built technology, artificial intelligence, and rigorous quality standards, Frontiers' research articles have been viewed more than 1.5 billion times, reflecting the power of research that is open for all.

A free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, for sharing, archive, citing, accessing, and explore research data.

By placing the research community at the heart of everything we do, we strive for a future where researchers are motivated to work together, empowered with the tools and services they need to do so, and freed from any barriers that stand in their way. We aim to maximize the impact of scientific research through openness and global collaboration as we truly believe that science works best when research is open.

Tracks citations between academic papers as well as between papers and patents. Create free account and log in for option to export up to 50,000 items to CSV with rich info including abstracts and citation counts. Best for: refined searching for academic literature or patents. Nearly 200 million academic papers and 122 million patents indexed as of February 2020.

Our Goal is to revolutionize discovery of scientific knowledge. We are building a visual interface that dramatically increases the visibility of research findings for science and society alike. We are a charitable non-profit organization and we believe that a better way to explore and discover scientific knowledge will benefit us all.

Re3data (Registry of Research Data Repositories) is a global registry of research data repositories from a diverse range of academic disciplines. It provides information on repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.

Redalyc is an indexing system that contains open access journals of scientific and editorial quality. After 16 years of providing visibility and supporting the consolidation of journals, it now incorporates exclusively those journals, from any part of the world, that share the non-profit publishing model in order to preserve the scholarly and open nature of scientific communication

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters, and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it. So far, over 2,200 archives from 103 countries have contributed about 3.8 million research items from 3,750 journals and 5,400 working paper series. Over 64,000 authors have registered and 80,000 email subscriptions are served every week. See below on how you can be part of this initiative.

SciELO is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature.

SocArXiv, an open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open-access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication.

The UNESCO Digital Library is a key tool for enabling UNESCO’s mission of building peace in the minds of people, in particular by “advancing the mutual knowledge and understanding, and encouraging cooperation among the nations in all branches of intellectual activity, including […] the exchange of publications, objects of artistic and scientific interest and other materials of information” (UNESCO Constitution).

The Data Catalog is a project to provide a more effective means for capture, acquisition, curation, access, and use of development-Data Catalog data throughout the World Bank Group. The goal is to maximize the value and investment in data by increasing the potential for the data to be shared and reused, to minimize transaction costs in finding relevant data and data methodologies, and to prevent duplication.

The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.